Jun 11, 2009

A Report from the Hay Literature Festival - David Williams

Welsh writers were out in force at the recent Hay Literature Festival beating off TV cooks and broken down politicians for the attention of enthusiastic audiences. The highlight was the announcement of the Wales Book of the Year shortlists. Poet Damian Walford Davies from Aberystwyth University chaired an evening in which the three English language and three Welsh language authors were invited to read from and discuss their work.

The English language shortlist consisted of Gee Williams (Blood etc), Deborah Kay Davies (Grace, Tamar and Lazlo the Beautiful) and Samantha Wynne-Rhydderch (Not In These Shoes) pictured above from left to right. The Welsh language authors were Hefyn Wyn (Pentigily), William Owen Roberts (Petrograd) and Geraint V Jones (Teulu Lord Bach).

Later, Damian Walford Davies teamed up with Richard Marggraf Turley and presented a son-et-lumiere evening of poetry and imagery and another Welsh success: during the course of the festival Flur Dafydd was presented with the Oxfam Emerging Writer of the Year prize.

Pictured below with shortlisted authors is Dominic Williams representing Parthian who can claim two thirds of the Wales Book of the Year list. WTG Parthian!

Vote Now!...in the Wales Book of The Year Award 2009 Poll.

Bookmark and Share

Popular Posts